DEXA 2013 Logo

in conjunction with DEXA 2013
24th International Conference on Database and Expert Systems Applications
August 26-30, 2013, Prague, Czech Republic

Workshop Program

The objective of the international workshop Web Semantics and Web Intelligence (WebS) is to bring together researchers, developers and practitioners to discuss research issues and experiences in developing and deploying Semantic Web concepts, applications, and solutions by establishing an international forum for the presentation of both theoretical and applicative results.

This year's WebS builds on this tradition of facilitating cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, experience and potential research directions. WebS 2013 seeks to introduce innovative methods, algorithms, and solutions to challenging problems in Semantic Web and Web Intelligence research and development initiatives.

Submissions presenting current research work on both theoretical and practical aspects of Semantic Web application experiences in Web Intelligence are encouraged. Particularly, we strongly welcome submissions dealing with Information Extraction and Linked Open Data.


The relevant topics include the following (but are not limited to):

Web Intelligence

Semantic Web and Ontologies

Semantic Web and Information Integration Semantic Web and Information Quality Semantic Web and Information Extraction / Natural Language Processing Semantic Web and Knowledge Management Semantic Web and its Applications

Linked Open Data (LOD)


Authors are invited to submit original, unpublished research and application papers that are not being considered in another forum.

Manuscripts will be limited to 5 two-column pages (IEEE Proceeding style) including figures and references. Please follow the Conference Publishing Services (CPS) Author Guidelines to prepare your papers. Authors of accepted papers are requested to sign the IEEE copyright form. The author guidelines can be found at Conference Publishing Services (CPS).

Electronic submission of manuscripts (in PDF, postscript, or word format) is required. Paper submission (Confdriver) . For any questions please contact

At least one author of each accepted paper is required to attend the conference and present the paper. Papers accepted for presentation will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press as proceedings of the DEXA 2013 workshops.
Authors are requested to send their paper(s) to be received by March 29, 2013 (extended deadline).

Author and participant registration (


All submissions will be evaluated for originality, significance, clarity, and technical soundness. Each paper will be refereed by at least three researchers in the topical area.


Paper submission: March 29, 2013 (extended deadline)
Notification of acceptance: May 08, 2013
WebS 2013 Workshop: Tuesday, August 27, 2013


Web Semantics and Web Intelligence CHAIRS

Christina Feilmayr (FAW, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria)
Wolfram Wöß (FAW, Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria)


José Francisco Aldana Montes, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Mario Arrigoni Neri, Università degli Studi di Bergamo, Italy
Elena Baralis, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Jorge Bernardino, ISEC, Polytechnic Institute of Coimbra, Portugal
Devis Bianchini, University of Brescia, Italy
Daniele Bonetta, Faculty of Informatics, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Alessio Bosca, CELI s.r.l, Turino, Italy
Radek Burget, Faculty of Information Technology, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic
Barbara Catania, DISI, University of Genoa, Italy
Bin Chen, Indiana University, USA
Sunil Choenni, Ministry of Security and Justice, The Hague, The Netherlands
Brian Davis, Digital Enterprise Research Institute (DERI), National University of Galway, Ireland
Valeria De Antonellis, Dipartimento di Elettronica per l'Automazione, Brescia, Italy
Cláudio De Souza Baptista, DSC, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, Brazil
John Debenham, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Steven A. Demurjian, University of Connecticut, USA
Ian J. Dickinson, Epimorphics Ltd, Bristol, UK
Ying Ding, Indiana University, USA
Nickolas J. G. Falkner, School of Computer Science, University of Adelaide, Australia
Christina Feilmayr, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Alfio Ferrara, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Fabien Gandon, INRIA, Sophia Antipolis, France
Stephan Grimm, Siemens AG, Corporate Technology, Munich, Germany
Abdelkader Hameurlain, Université Paul Sabatier, France
Carmem Satie Hara, Universidade Federal do Parana, Brazil
Bernhard Haslhofer, University of Vienna, Austria
Eva Maria Hauth, Hagenberg Software GmbH, Hagenberg, Austria
Stijn Heymans, SRI International, Menlo Park, USA
Giacomo Inches, Faculty of Informatics, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Hiroyuki Kawano, Kyoto University, Japan
Ralf Klischewski, Faculty of Management Technology, German University in Cairo, Egypt
In-Young Ko, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea
Ora Lassila, Nokia Location & Commerce, Burlington, MA, USA
Michele Melchiori, Dept. of Information Engineering (DII), University of Brescia, Italy
Michele Missikoff, Institute of Systems Analysis and Computer Science (IASI), Italy
Jürgen Moßgraber, Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation (IOSB), Karlsruhe, Germany
Ismael Navas Delgado, Universidad de Málaga, Spain
Heiko Paulheim, Knowledge Engineering Group, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Achille Peternier, Faculty of Informatics, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Detlef Plump, University of York, UK
Isidro Ramos, Technical University of Valencia, Spain
Simon Scerri, Digital Enterprise Research Institute (DERI), Galway, Ireland
Bernhard Schandl, Department of Distributed and Multimedia Systems, University of Vienna, Austria
Ulrich Schiel, DSC, Universidade Federal de Campina Grande, Brazil
Elena Simperl, University of Southampton, UK
Riccardo Torlone, Università Roma Tre, Italy
Alexander Ulanov, Hewlett-Packard Labs Russia, St.Petersburg, Russia
Kim Viljanen, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
Albert Weichselbraun, Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Austria
Werner Winiwarter, University of Vienna, Austria
Wolfram Wöß, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria